The Easiest Cheesecake EVER!!

Hey there casa lovers!, I love the festivities this time of the year brings; Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s and the thought of it makes me happy. I love baking and one of my favorite recipes to bake is cheesecake. I used to be intimidated by it because I wanted it to be perfect but I came to a point that perfection was not important, what was important was to making it with love and of course that tasted good. Below, find the recipe that in my opinion, is the easiest one I’ve tried and trust me, I’ve tried many!. This one does not required a water bath which saves lots of time. Of course, if you want to make the water bath, by all means go ahead, but my recipe is very easy.

Ingredients

Crust

1 1/4 cups of Honey Graham Crackers

1/4 cup granulated sugar

6 tablespoons of melted butter, make sure you use unsalted 

Cheesecake filling

1 cup of sour cream

5 packages of 8 oz cream cheese @ room temperature

The zest of 1 small lemon

4 eggs

1 teaspoon of real vanilla extract

1 teaspoon of salt

1 1/2 cups of granulated sugar

Cheesecake topping

3/4 of a cup of strawberry preserves, I make my own

Fresh strawberries, raspberries and blueberries (make sure you remove all the water from them once washed)

wpid-2014-06-28-22.18.23.jpg.jpeg

Directions

1. First, preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Take your spring form pan, spray it with baking cooking spray and line the outside of the pan with heavy duty aluminium foil paper.

wpid-2014-06-30-06.48.09.jpg.jpeg

{This what a spring form pan looks like, it’s worth getting one, mine cost $12.99 @ Marshall’s}

2. Take the crackers and smash them until crumbled. You can use a food processor or a plastic zipper bag to crush them.

wpid-2014-06-29-14.16.56.jpg.jpeg

3. Once the crackers are crumbled, mix with the butter and sugar in a large bowl, use a spatula to make sure they’re well combined. Pour into your spring form pan, take a glass cup and press the mixture until you make an even layer in the pan. Bake for about 8 minutes and let it cool.

wpid-2014-06-28-22.08.19.jpg.jpeg

4. In a standing mixer, pour the cream cheese, sugar and sour cream; once combined, add the eggs (one at a time), then the zest,  mix the salt and the vanilla and add last. Beat on medium speed for about 1 minute or so. Then take a spatula and scrape the bottom of your mixing bowl and combined them well. Pour the batter into the form pan and bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

wpid-2014-06-28-22.06.58.jpg.jpeg

5.  Let the cheesecake cool completely at room temperature and then transfer it to the fridge to let it cool overnight. Be patient!. You may see cracks on the top of the cheesecake, but no worries, you are going to cover that with the strawberries preserve and berries.

6. Final step: add the strawberries preserves in a small pan and just heat it a bit, this is just to make the preserves easier to drizzle over the top of your beautiful cheesecake, let it cool. Then, drizzle the preserves evenly over the top, then scatter all the fresh berries over the top. Enjoy!

wpid-20131128_202709.jpg

35 thoughts on “The Easiest Cheesecake EVER!!

  1. Have read in quite a few sites that adding sour cream to a cheesecake mixture is suppose to make the cake creamier, tangier. This is the easiest recipe if the lot I’ve seen though – essentially mix all the cheese filling ingredients together! I might just try it if I can get off my lazy bum! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Simple to follow, and I bet it is delicious! How you are able to keep the graham crackers free from too much moisture is key. A soggy crust does not taste good. – Fred

  3. My wife and I were just talking of buying an oven as she was thinking of baking or making something for snacks and all. Good thing is, this post was just timely. I’ll show this post to her and we’ll take it from there. Thanks, by the way.

  4. I know what I’ll be preparing for my boyfriend this month! 🙂 Thank you for this post and if it goes well (I hope it does), I won’t have to buy cheesecake from a store anymore! :))

Leave a Reply

